ARC-182 // Dinu Lipatti in Zurich 1947 & 1950

The complete Lipatti-concert from 7 February 1950 (Chopin) and test recordings with Antonio Janigro from 1947


Dinu Lipatti in Zurich

1947 & 1950


The Zurich Chopin Concert from 7 February 1950
Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor Op. 11
Otto Ackermann / Tonhalle Orchester Zürich
Nocturne No. 8 in D Flat major, Op. 27 No. 2
Etude Op. 25 No. 2 in E minor
Etude 10 No. 5 in G flat major Op. ("Black Key")

Test Recordings with Antonio Janigro, 24 May 1947
Beethoven: Cello Sonata No.3 in A major, Op.69: I. Allegro maestoso
Bach: Andante in D major
Fauré: Après un rêve
Ravel: Pièce en forme de Habanera
Rimsky-Korsakov: Vol du bourdon

Download via ClassicsOnline (some titles also via iTunes, Qobuz, eclassical, Spotify et al.). More information from Werner Unger.


Dinu Lipatti’s legendary interpretation of the Chopin E minor concerto (Tonhalle Zurich 1950) has already been published several times. Based on a newly found copy of Radio Bern in combination with other sources archiphon has once again remastered not only the concerto, but also the solo pieces, played by Lipatti in the second part of the concert – both for the first time in the correct pitch (A=440Hz) and without wow and flutter.
In 1947 Lipatti and his friend Antonio Janigro made test recordings for Columbia in Zurich, from which original 78rpm discs were at our disposition. These recordings are the only examples of Lipatti playing chamber music from the standard repertoire (he accompanied Enescu in recordings of two of the violinist-composer's Violin Sonatas). The 1st movement of Beethoven’s Cello Sonata Op.69 and an Andante by Bach have never been released before.


© by archiphon® now continued by Werner Unger :: Grossherzog-Friedrich-Str. 62 :: D-77694 Kehl :: +49.7851.2306 :: EMail :: Impressum :: Datenschutz